Of new ideas and great quotes

This blog is basically about my inspirations and words that move me. Reading is a passion, but I have stayed away from chronicling my views on books or any other ideas, but it is the beginning of a new year and thus the start of something new. Here I hope to review books, sometimes just post music clips, quote my favourite authors and basically just do what I feeling doing, share what I love. I don’t believe in rating anything, so there will be no rating on this blog, just my views on the reading material. I’m going to start with just some quotes by authors I discovered in the last year.

images

“If one wanted to depict the whole thing graphically, every episode, with its climax, would require a three-dimensional, or, rather, no model: every experience is unrepeatable. What makes lovemaking and reading resemble each other most is that within both of them times and spaces open, different from measurable time and space.”
― Italo CalvinoIf on a Winter’s Night a Traveler

“People believe, thought Shadow. It’s what people do. They believe, and then they do not take responsibility for their beliefs; they conjure things, and do not trust the conjuration. People populate the darkness; with ghost, with gods, with electrons, with tales. People imagine, and people believe; and it is that rock solid belief, that makes things happen.”
― Neil GaimanAmerican Gods

“I need you, the reader, to imagine us, for we don’t really exist if you don’t.”
― Vladimir NabokovLolita

“It would evidently take more than a political regime, more than dire poverty to stop a woman from wanting to be well-dressed: it was a desire as old as the world, as old as the desire for children.”
― Sijie DaiBalzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress

“In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer.
And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there’s something stronger – something better, pushing right back.”
― Albert CamusThe Stranger

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.”
― John GreenThe Fault in Our Stars

These are quotes from some of the books that I read last year, these nuggets had my mind whirling.

Leave a Reply

